Authors Like Aldous Huxley, Authors Similar To Aldous Huxley

When you feel like it might not be the “best of times,” as Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg said last week, then chances are pretty good that you’ll look to a great book for some insight, if not some answers. George Orwell’s classic, 1984, has been giving readers just that for nearly 70 years. 1984 has never been out of print since its initial publication in 1948, but the harrowing account of life, and love, in a fictional totalitarian, surveillance state reached new levels of popularity this year. By the end of January, the novel – a staple of secondary school English classes – was topping charts and became the best-selling book on Amazon. 1984 offers a dystopian vision of a fascist regime ruled by Big Brother, and a tragic hero in Winston Smith who tries to understand it all. So, whether you”re a student of literature, or simply liked 1984, and want some fresh insight, try these.

 

*

2. Lord of the Flies by William Golding

A group of British school boys crashes on a deserted island—and invents their own society. What type of society do they develop? Think primal. Join Ralph, Piggy, Jack, Simon, Maurice, and the rest of the boys as they about the costs of freedom and integrity at the expenses of innocence, youth, and in some cases—their lives. Golding wrote the book in 1954 as a study of the conflict between human impulse and the desire for power. Sound familiar?

 

*

4.

Đang xem: Authors like aldous huxley

Xem thêm: Ron Howard'S Mom Jean Speegle Howard Pictures, Jean Speegle Howard

See also  What About Bobby? Mtv Gives Tila Tequila And Bobby Banhart On E

Xem thêm: David Boreanaz American Dad !” Less Money, Mo” Problems (Tv Episode 2012)

We by Yevgeny Zamyatin

Read this 1921 dystopian novel by Russian writer Zamyatin, who shows us a world of harmony and conformity—lockstep—in a totalitarian state. The novel is futuristic, set after the 200 Years War, which wiped out everyone except “0.2 % of the earth’s population.” The “Benefactor” presides over this society, protected from outside forces by a giant Green Wall. Orwell (see #1 and #3) wrote a review of it. His work inspired not only Orwell, but also Huxley (see #7), Rand, Vonnegut, and LeGuin (see #5).

 

*

6. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

What if a theocratic military dictatorship overthrew the US government and implemented a political system wholly dependent on the subjugation of women? Set in near-future New England, The Handmaid’s Tale offers a chilling answer in its treatment of class, gender, and occupation. If you like this one, you’ll also like her MaddAddam Trilogy. 

 

*

7. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

Our list wouldn’t be complete without it. Controlled by addiction, divided by caste: Alpha, Beta, Gamma, Delta, and Epsilon. Huxley’s 1931 dystopian novel explores a futuristic vision that thrives on the loss of the individual. Widely acclaimed and one of the most popular novels of our time, Brave New World speaks to readers across generations.

See more articles in category: Famous people

Leave a Reply

Back to top button