I'Ve Read Books By Authors Like Jhumpa Lahiri Books, Authors Like Jhumpa Lahiri

I've read books by authors like Jhumpa Lahiri and Salman Rushdie to name a few. What are other authors like them?

To clarify things, I am not interested in authors like Tagore. I am talking about modern day authors that write novels about modern day Indians or ABCDesis. By modern day, I mean, present-day in a sense.

Đang xem: Authors like jhumpa lahiri

Looking forward to reading some of your recommendations.

Serious Men by Manu Joseph is one of the best books I've read. It has some sharp commentary on caste and marginalization in modern Indian society. Highly recommended.

Also check out Family Life by Akhil Sharma about his semi-autobiographical account of migrating to the US.

Try Chitra Banerjee Divarkuni!

Also especially if you're Telugu, Karma and Other Stories by Rishi Reddi. It's a book of short stories, almost like Lahiri's but with Telugu families instead of Bengali. All the stories are about a Telugu community in Massachusetts, so they're all subtly interwoven, it's amazing.

Xem thêm: I Rather Die On My Feet, Than Live Upon My, Emiliano Zapata

From the UK you've got Hanif Qureishi, Zadie Smith (the novel White Teeth).

I quite like the Pakistani author Mohsin Hamid.

I am talking about modern day authors that write novels about modern day Indians or ABCDesis. By modern day, I mean, present-day in a sense.

English ones or non-English ones?

Anjana Appachana has a short story collection and novel. Both are fantastic. She writes a lot about the experiences of Indian women in modern India. Fantastic writer. You can read about her, and other Indian authors, here: https://books.google.com/books?id=qlpKOzsOc-IC&pg=PA12&dq=anjana+appachana&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0CDIQ6AEwAmoVChMIxs2Y0vmMxgIVwi2MCh2w1gCf#v=onepage&q=anjana%20appachana&f=false

See also  Overstaying Your Welcome Quotes, Rupert Friend

You should read Bhudda of Suburbia by Hanif Kureshi, and also the Black Album by the same. Those 2 books are some of my favourite. Also, even though Murikami is not desi, you should also read Norwegian Wood, one of the best books I have read and I reckon most lost and introverted desi's will most likely relate to this book.

Xem thêm: Danny P Bourgeois Son Of Donna Douglas, Remembering Donna Douglas

*

South Asian Americans-A place for members of the South Asian diaspora that includes people who descend from Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, and Nepal. We also welcome Desis who live in Australia, Britain, Canada, and other countries outside of the South Asian subcontinent.

See more articles in category: Famous people

Leave a Reply

Back to top button